Color Challenge – Purple and Yellow

Leave a comment

Purple and yellow ….. purple and yellow ….  purple and yellow —  this week’s Operation Write Home (OWH) Midweek Throwdown Challenge …..

Honestly, the only thing that came to mind was violets.   Maybe because it’s supposed to be Spring (although you’d never know it to look out the window at the piles of snow still here) or maybe because I wasn’t very imaginative at that moment.  Whatever the reason, I put it aside for a bit until I could come back with a fresh perspective.

Spring cleaning has been in my blood the past few weeks and my craft space was not spared.   Apparently it was just the right nudge that was needed.  In the back corner of a seldom used space I came upon some papers that I picked up years ago and tucked away for something special …. LOL – I do that all the time and then promptly forget about them!   One was a 6×6 pad that had a yellow cover and the next was a cellophane envelope with purple as the outward facing paper.   It was meant to be!   Once I got those things lying next to each other, things came together pretty easily.

 2014, 03-26 - Midweek Throwdown - Color Challenge - Purple and Yellow

I covered the whole front of the cardbase with the sparkly purple paper (Sizzix Little Sizzles Textures).  I’m sorry that the sparkle doesn’t show up in the photo, it adds a lot to the card.  Then took a sheet from the 6×6 pad (Tim Coffey- Daisy Pad) that had leaves and angled it across the bottom and finally cut the flowers out of the patterned paper from the same pad.   Even though the daisies are light yellow, I edged the petals with both yellow and a light gray using Copic markers to give them more definition and then adhered them using dimensional adhesive cut into teeny, tiny pieces so that each petals is supported as well as the centers.  I think these papers are so old that they are no longer in production – I couldn’t find them anywhere.

I hope you like the final result!

Gail

Leave a Reply

