White on White

6 Comments

Hello all!

This week’s Midweek Throwdown from Operation Write Home (OWH) is a color challenge – White on White …..

At first I thought …..  ugh …. what can I do with that!   wedding card?   or maybe a wedding shower?   How much call is there going to be for those cards?   This is not going to be fun – maybe I should start cleaning the house in anticipation of company coming tomorrow for Thanksgiving dinner….

Man-o-man, was I wrong!   Thank you OWH for once again encouraging me to try something different!  

Although there are always things that are either in-use or have recently been used and aren’t put back in their place, I’m more than a bit of a nerd or geek, or whatever the proper term is, when it comes to having things organized.   When I get an idea (which sometimes … ok, often ….  takes me a LONG time) I don’t want to have to spend a lot of time digging around trying to find this or that.  

This attitude also extends to my papers – sorted by color family and within that between patterned or plain.  I do have a nice variety of white papers – flat, sparkly, textured, lightweight, heavyweight (you get the idea)  – all sorted and stacked.  So I grabbed the pile of white and thought, well, I guess I can emboss something and make it acceptable.   But as I started flipping through the papers to find the right weight and finish, I was reminded how many ‘colors’ of white there are ~   I don’t mean cream or beige or even off-white (which I have sorted and stacked separately) but, when it stands on it’s own, is a color that I consider to be white.   Now this is definitely a non-scientific assessment and is based only on how my eye sees things, but I have a lot of different whites!   Of course, I knew that – after all, I did sort them in the first place, but it’s not something I really give much thought to on a day-to-day basis.  Now the challenge was becoming a bit more interesting and a bit less daunting.   

So I set the papers aside and started thinking in reverse – not about what paper do I want to use and then find an embossing folder that would work, but instead about a design and then I’ll fit the papers to it.   I settled on what I guess would be called a modified tri-fold card.  A2 size but with the front flap folded over again.   My first thought was to do a partial die cut and layer the cut area with a different white than the card base – and so I set about trying to find the perfect die.   I found a lovely detailed die called  Renaissance Heart from Hero Arts – I gave it a go.  It was ok but it wasn’t what I had envisioned and layering would be tough.   So I tried again and this time I did a partial die cut using a Spellbinder’s Classic Hearts die about the same size as the Renaissance Heart and then found a pearlized white paper (it may look off-white or cream in the photo, but I swear that, on it’s own, it is very white).  I cut the pearlized paper with the Renaissance Heart die and layered over the top of solid heart cut into the card base.  That worked!  WOO HOO!!  But I still wasn’t happy with the overall results of the card – it was still a bit too plain, so I took some more of the pearlized paper and another Spellbinders die (Lattice Rectangles) and cut a layer for the inside of the card.    That was the answer!

I know that the sample card had a sentiment stamped in a pastel color, but with the partial die cut, the only writing surface is the inside panel so I wanted to leave that open.  I tried a couple of things on the front using the Stamp-a-ma-jig to try out different placements but I didn’t find anything I thought really worked.  I hope it stands well enough on its own.   

2013, 11-27 - Midweek Throwdown - White on White Color Challenge - 01

 

2013, 11-27 - Midweek Throwdown - White on White Color Challenge - 02

 

Now things were falling into place, so why not another card?   I liked the tri-fold approach but how about going back to the original embossing idea?   I have the Spellbinders Wonderful Wings set and had also considered a butterfly for the first card – and the two papers worked well together – so I cut and layered the butterfly.  I would pop that up with some foam tape but what do do for the embossing?    For me, butterflies and flowers just belong together.   I have a great die from Memory Box called Fairytale Flower Border that was the perfect fit!   I used the die to emboss both the inside of the card base and a strip of the pearlized paper that was left over.  I’m disappointed that the embossing doesn’t show up better in the photo because it is so pretty in person.  I adhered the pearlized paper to the front of the card, layered on the butterfly and ta-da! a second card!

2013, 11-27 - Midweek Throwdown - White on White Color Challenge - 03

I hope you like them both!

Wishing you all a very Happy Thanksgiving~

Gail

6 thoughts on “White on White

Leave a Reply

