Masculine Birthday

Leave a comment

Happy Wednesday to you all!

This week’s Operation Write Home (OWH) Midweek Throwdown is to create a masculine birthday card.   I don’t know why card creation stamps, designs and supplies focus so heavily on a feminine approach – I seem to need as many cards for boys/men as I do for girls/women.   Maybe I’m the exception to the rule …..

While the paper manufacturers seem to be including the male gender more frequently lately, I do still find it difficult to find stamp sets that work for the men in my life and don’t find a lot of cards to CASE (Copy And Share Everything).   Luckily, my guys (and hopefully many others) enjoy cards that are more ‘engineered’ than ‘artsy’ – the clean and simple look works for them.

So here’s a birthday card I like a lot and can be easily recreate if needed.   Many thanks to Sandy Allnock for the design idea!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_x4CrrtFO4

2013, 11-20 - Midweek Throwdown - Masculine Birthday Challenge

This card has a lot of pieces and takes a little time to piece together, but for me it’s a really fun card to make!

The tools I used are:

  • a scoring board – the Martha Stewart version
  • a paper cutting tool – while I use a guillotine style paper cutter for most of my cutting, I use the Fiskars paper trimmer for the inside cuts used in this card because of the precision I can get but a craft knife and ruler work well too
  • stamps – on this card I used the Happy Birthday stamp from Inkadinkado (98164-MM) which apparently has been retired since it’s no longer on their website, the Have a Great Day stamp from Northwoods Vertical (H6691) – it isn’t visible in this photo but is on the narrow fold adjacent to the white panel with the stars, and finally the Star from Year Round Sentiment – Hero Arts clear stamp set (CL 582)

I hope you enjoyed seeing this card and got an idea or two for making cards for the boys and men in your life!

Gail

Leave a Reply

