Any Hero Holiday Cards

Leave a comment

And a happy, sort of wintry, Wednesday to you all!

We had our first snowfall (that stuck) of the season last night – not really much to speak of according to MN standards, but it certainly makes it clear that Fall is on its way out and Winter is knocking on the door ….    Even if it is all supposed to melt today, this is more than a bit too early for my personal preference. However, there is an upside — it does mean more ‘inside time’ is around the corner which, of course, means more time for crafting!

Today’s Operation Write Home Midweek Throwdown challenge is to make an Any Hero holiday card and send it off before the deadline of November 30.  In addition to collecting handmade cards that are shipped overseas for the troops to use to write notes home to their families and friends, Operation Write Home also collects notes that are written TO the troops.  These notes are included in the boxes of cards that are sent overseas and the contact person for that unit/group then distributes the Any Hero mail as they feel is appropriate – oftentimes to servicemen and servicewomen who never get a card or letter from home.   While typically Any Hero mail has no requirement that the notes be written on homemade cards, I’m sure they appreciate them as much as anyone else!

The cards I’ve made previously as Any Hero mail have had a patriotic look to them, so I pondered for quite a while about what to do, what to do ….  then, like a flash of lightning, I remembered that, other than the NO GLITTER requirement, the ‘rules’ for card submissions don’t apply to Any Hero mail!   I have a lot of Christmas card samples I’ve made over the years on card sizes other than the A2 (5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″) and so I pulled them out!   One even has a picture of a pine tree in our back yard with the lights shining through new-fallen snow.   What a terrific way to put those cards to use!   Thank you Operation Write Home for this challenge!!

These cards use white ink stamped onto regular cardstock that has been slipped into card bases intended for photos.

2013, 11-06 - Midweek Throwdown - Any Hero Holiday Cards Challenge - 03

In this set, the upper card uses some Christmas ribbon across the top and a snowflake punch – and it reminded me of a tool I haven’t used in a very long time and need to dig out!  The tall card is from a card kit that I purchased when I first started making cards. The blue layer already had the windows cut from it so all I had to do was adhere it to the base.   The trees and sentiment are rub-ons.

2013, 11-06 - Midweek Throwdown - Any Hero Holiday Cards Challenge - 01

And finally, the last two cards.  The upper card has the photo of the tree in our backyard.  The other is one I made when I first started experimenting with layers.  I drew the tree on the left with a gold pen and decorated it with stars that I ran through my Xyron.

2013, 11-06 - Midweek Throwdown - Any Hero Holiday Cards Challenge - 02

I hope you and those that receive them will enjoy them!  Have a GREAT day!  I’m off to write notes in these cards!

Gail

Leave a Reply

