The Nature of Christmas Challenge

8 Comments

Hello, hello!

I hope this post finds you well and enjoying my favorite of all seasons – Fall – which is definitely well underway here in MN.   Even though I find it distressing that retailers are already displaying Christmas items when Halloween is still several weeks away, in the crafting world it is understandable that we would already be working on Christmas projects since it takes a lot of time to get all of those handmade goodies completed!

Christmas has also definitely been on the minds of our friends at Operation Write Home (OWH) for quite a while now.   In order to collect, sort, box and ship cards overseas in time for the troops to be able to receive them and get them sent back home to family and friends in time for Christmas, the deadline for Christmas card donations is October 31 (preferably by October 15) which is right around the corner!

Perhaps that is the reason that the Midweek Throwdown challenge this week is to include something from nature that reminds us of Christmas.  The first thing that came to my mind was a Christmas Tree … perhaps not very original but I definitely think it meets the challenge criteria.

This card uses a technique I haven’t thought about in a very long time – Iris Folding. The card can be completed using only a scissors, some paper and a little adhesive.   This tree uses four different Christmas papers that I picked up years ago when I succombed to the allure of a sale but, (as often happens to me when I buy on impulse) once I got back home the paper just didn’t work well for the cards I gravitate toward. The paper is very light weight – about the same as copy paper – so while it wasn’t very fun to work with when layering (it often wouldn’t lay flat and rippled, or tore when I tried to adjust it), it folds like a dream and doesn’t add much bulk to the card even though there are many overlapping layers.

This card does take a little time and patience and isn’t a design that is probably very well suited to mass production, but I truly believe it is something that anyone of nearly any age can do and it doesn’t require any special cardmaking tools.  I don’t know why the photo came out so poorly ….  my apologies.

2013, 10-09 - Midweek Throwdown - The Nature of Chrismas

Several Iris Folding patterns are available for free through Circle of Crafters.com which is where I found this pattern.  They also include a ‘how to’ section that gives step-by-step instructions for making a heart.  The steps can then be repeated for any Iris Folding pattern.  The pattern for this particular tree can be found here:  http://www.circleofcrafters.com/irisfolding/irisfoldingxmastree.html  I cut the star from gold paper that is corrugated and added a bit of ribbon to the side because it needed just a little something …  I hope you like it.

Wishing you sunshine and warm fall breezes!

Gail

8 thoughts on “The Nature of Christmas Challenge

  1. Thanks for playing in the OWH Midweek Throwdown Challenge. I love your iris folding tree. I have never tried that technique but love the way it looks. Maybe one day I’ll get around to trying it. 🙂

    • Jen, It’s a fun activity and doesn’t require a lot of pre-planning since the patterns are all designed for you – just pick your papers and go!

Leave a Reply

