Cards 4 Kids Challenge

2 Comments

A very good Wednesday to you!

Today’s Operation Write Home (OWH) challenge was to make  Cards 4 Kids.   For this card I used a stamp I picked up with my grandchildren in mind, so I hope other kids will enjoy it too!   I tried mounting it with just one blue layer, but the image colors are so simple that I decided it just needed something extra to break up all the white, so I used 3 layers in alternating colors.  The layers are not equally sized (intentionally) and I’m still a little on the fence about whether or not I really like the result.  But of all the combinations I tried, this is the one I liked the best.

2013, 08-21 - Midweek Throwdown - Cards 4 Kids Challenge

The stamp set is Stampendous! Doodle Wings – apparently it is no longer in production because it is not listed on the Stampendous! site.  The butterfly and sentiment are stamped using Memento Tuxedo Black ink.  The butterfly is colored with Memento pens in Blue Danube and Dandelion.  Dandelion was also used to trace over the sentiment.

The colored portions of the upper wings and the blue on the bottom wings have had Inkssentials’ Glossy accents by Ranger applied to give the image some texture.  I’ve used Kuretake’s Zig Wink of Stella brush marker, in clear, on the yellow portions of the bottom wings and the butterfly’s body, face and antennae for a little bit of a shine.  The spots on the butterfly’s body are self-sticking gems I’ve had for many years from A-muse Art Stamps.   I searched the web address from the back of the packaging and apparently they are no longer in business – sorry.

This card is a bit too fussy for mass production, so I’m quite sure this will be a one-of-a-kind!

Well, that’s it for this challenge ~ hope you’re having a terrific day!

Gail

2 thoughts on “Cards 4 Kids Challenge

  1. At first glance I thought your varying layers were intentional, and I liked it, so I’d say it was a good result. 🙂 I like this card a lot – simple, but very pretty!

Leave a Reply

