Masculine Card Challenge

8 Comments

Happy Wednesday!

Today the Operation Write Home (OWH) blog has issued a midweek challenge to create a masculine card.  So, in keeping with that theme, this is a card I made a while ago and sent to OWH.  OWH supports many military units, and, therefore, it is permitted to send multiples of a card design (at this time you can send as many as 30 of a single design at once).  I found I could print six of these sailboats on one sheet of cardstock. For me, the most time on OWH cards is spent coming up with the card design (perhaps it’s because I don’t know anything about the person who will be receiving it and what they might enjoy…. not sure) and being able to replicate a card, once I’ve settled on a design, is appreciated.

2013, 07-10 - Sailboat

The sailboat is the Echo Park sail boat, Design ID #26891, from the Silhouette Studio store.   I changed the boat and sail colors, added a pattern to the flag and overlayed the sentiment (also from the Silhouette Studio store) onto the boat hull.  After it was printed, I overstamped the sails with the Hero Arts Envelope Pattern background stamp and covered the flag with Ranger’s Inkssentials Glossy accents to give it some dimension and texture.  The corners of the white layer were trimmed using the Tonic Ticket Tag corner punch.  White brads were used as an embellishment.

Well, that’s it for today – I hope you enjoyed this card!

Gail

8 thoughts on “Masculine Card Challenge

    • Thank you Bobbi! Sometimes I think I having too much ‘stuff’ makes it harder to settle on a design – and I DEFINITELY have a LOT of stuff! If you have any tips on settling on a design, I’m all ears!

    • Thank you Kathy! Where in Minnesota are you? I’m glad you like the sailboat – it was a little labor intensive, but so very much worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

